dev log

08/22/2023

gif of a rat coming out of a toilet

hello!

this is my first log to this site, so I think I should start by introducing what I've been working on.

the game that I've been creating is called "friend collector."

this is the logo.

the game is just what it sounds like. the main objective of the story is to reunite with an old childhood friend, but the bulk of the gameplay is going around town and making friends with everybody. well, that's how I intended it to be, but you can also ignore that aspect of the gameplay and just go right to finishing the story and get it over with. I'm not sure how fun that would be, though. you can also make enemies if you do the wrong thing--intentionally or unintentionally.

this is the main character. as you can see, you play as a sentient smiley face! I thought it would be fun to take the concept of pareidolia and base the characters off of that.

it's a game created in RPG Maker MV. I started working on it on 05/09/2021, so that makes it a litle over two years now that I've been working on it!

well, here's a bit of what I've got to show after two years.

I say I've been working on it for two years, but I really only started to get serious about it recently (within the past few months)...

a little snippet of the map. there's not a lot going on, but expect this to change! I'm always messing with the map.
here's a little arcade that I've been working on. the food court is closed! how horrendous!
it's a rat! have you ever seen a rat swimming in a toilet?

from the few screenshots I've shared, it might not seem like there's a lot going on. but there's a lot I have planned with this game, and I want to create exactly what I have envisioned! this would be my first released game, and it's rather simple and silly, but I hope it's fun.